Tuesday, August 19, 2008


The Diocese of Mount Kilimanjaro is one of the 21 Diocese of the Anglican Church of Tanzania in the Wordwide Anglican Communion. The Diocese stretches over three regions of mainland Tanzania - namely Kilimanjaro, Arusha and Manyara regions. Currently the Diocese has 50 parishes and 61 ordained pastors.

The Diocese has its headquaters in Arusha, a city situated at the center of Africa (Cape to Cairo) - A city that has come to be known as the "Geneva of Africa" Arusha hosts the East African community and it houses the International Criminal Tribunal of Rwanda. Arusha is the "hub" of Tanzania's tourist industry, thus giving the Diocese convenient position and link to all the important tourist attractions not only Tanzania but also the whole of the Eastern Africa region.

Like most Anglican dioceses in the developing world, the biggest challenge has lately been how to take the gospel to the un-reached without external assistance. DMK is going through the same hardships. Alomost 80% of the diocesan budget depends on donor support - a situation we want to reverse

No comments: